April 09, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Uva PC elections being conducted peacefully

    September 20, 2014

    The Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya said the conduct of the Uva provincial council election has been peaceful thus far and no  major incidents of election violence were reported up to now.

    Moneragala District Secretary J. Pathinadan  said  voting commenced in the Moneragala district at 318 polling stations and so far 45% of Moneragala district voters have cast their votes.


    Badulla District Secretary Rohana Keerthi Dissanayake said voter turnout in the Badulla district is  nearing 50%.


    Casting of votes for the 2014 Uva Provincial Council election got underway at 7 this morning and will conclude at 4 in the evening. The Election Secretariat said that the counting of postal votes will begin at 04.00 p.m and  counting of rest at  of the votes is scheduled to begin at 6.00pm.


    The rest of the votes is scheduled to be counted at 06.00 p.m. (kh)


    Last modified on Saturday, 20 September 2014 23:29

    dgi log front