July 05, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook


    JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 47

    Wild Life Conservation Dept. celebrated 65th Anniversary

    October 02, 2014

    65th. Anniversary of The  Wild Life Conservation Department celebrated its 65th Anniversary yesterday (Oct.01) at the departmental premises at  Battaramulla. Minister of Economic Development Basil Rajapaksa was the Chief Guest of the event.. 

    The Wild Life Conservation Department was established on 1 October, 1949 and now has  22 national parks, 64 sanctuaries , 5 nature reserves, 3  natural reserves scattered in a land extent  amounting to 14% of the total land area of Sri lanka. 02 marine national parks and 3  marine sanctuaries  are also fall within the purview of the Department. 
    Minister Basil Rajapaksa awarded Prizes and certificates to those who were successful at the photography and essay competition held to mark the 65th anniversary celebrations.  
    Minister Rajapaksa also participated at the launching of ” Top Seven Wild Sri Lanka” for the upliftment of the Sri Lanka Tourism. 
    Ministers Wijith  Wijithamuni Soyza, Deputy Minister Susantha Punchinilame were among the large gathering on this occasion. (KH)
    Basil Wild life dept1Basil Wild life dept2Basil Wild life dept3Basil Wild life dept4

    dgi log front