October 24, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Special trains for Poson

    June 05, 2017

    Special train services will be in operation during the Poson season for the benefit of the pilgrims travelling to Anuradhapura, Railway Department said.

    Accordingly, 28 trains will be running from 6th to 10th June. On the 8th and 9th special trains will ply between Anuradhapura – Medawachchiya, and Anuradhapura – Mahawa. In addition, on 8th and 9th there will be trains plying between Anuradhapura – Mihinthalaya 72 times. The daily trains too will have additional compartments.


    On the 6th June, a special train will leave Colombo Fort at 12.00 noon, on 7th June at 3.30 a.m., 8.20 a.m., 10.40 a.m., 12.45 p.m., 6.00 p.m., and 11.15 p.m. for Anuradhapura. A special train will be running from Awissawella to Anuradhapura.

    On 8th June, two special trains will be running from Colombo Fort to Anuradhapura at 3.30 a.m. and 6.10.p.m. Another train will leave from Mahawa at 10.40 a.m. on the same day.


    On the 9th June, A train will leave from Maradana to Anuradhapura at 4.00 a.m. Additional trains will also be running to Anuradhapura from Mahawa on 9th and 10th.

    dgi log front