February 22, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Speaker signs LA Elections (Amendment) Bill Featured

    August 31, 2017

    Speaker Karu Jayasuriya signed the Local Authorities Elections (Amendment) Bill today (31st Aug.) at the Parliament.

    Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government Faizer Musthapa, Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dassanayaka, Deputy Secretary General of Parliament and Chief of Staff Neil Iddawela and the Secretary to the Ministry Kamal Padmasiri also participated.


    The 2012 No. 22 Local Authorities Elections (Amendment) Bill was presented to Parliament by Minister Musthafa on 20th June and the second reading debate was held on 24th August. On 25th it was passed with 120 votes.

    Last modified on Thursday, 31 August 2017 17:24

    dgi log front