December 06, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Two names for the Opposition Leader Position submits to Speaker Featured

    November 21, 2019

    The Speaker of Parliament Karu Jayasuriya emphasized that the process of electing the Opposition Party Leader does not relate to the scope of affairs of the Committee on Parliamentary Business. Thus, the matter of appointing the Opposition Party Leader needs to be resolved within the United National Party itself as it is an internal matter of the Party. This statement was made at the meeting of the Committee on Parliamentary Business held Today (21).

    Accustomed to the parliamentary tradition, the Leader of the Opposition is recognized to be the Leader of the Political Party consisting of a majority of the members. Furthermore, the Hon. Speaker emphasized to the Committee that it is the duty of the Secretary General of that particular Party to inform the Speaker in writing of the same.
    Hon. Speaker stated the aforesaid following the submission of a letter by Hon. MP Ajith. P. Perera in recommendation of appointing Hon. MP Sajith Premadasa as the Opposition Party Leader. Before that Hon. Speaker read out a letter send by MP and Secretary General of the United National Party (UNP), Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, nominating Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe as the Opposition Party Leader of the Parliament. Thereafter, MP Ajith. P. Perera submitted the letter signed by some of the members of the UNP recommending the appointment of Hon. MP Sajith Premadasa as the Opposition Party Leader.
    The Parliamentarians Lakshman Kiriella, Dullas Alahapperuma, Rauff Hakeem, Ravi Karunanayake, Dinesh Gunawardena, Mahinda Amaraweera, Douglas Devananda, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Wimal Weerawansa, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Ameer Ali Shihabdeen and Ajith. P. Perera attended the Committee on Parliamentary Business meeting.


    dgi log front