October 16, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Motion against UNHRC investigation passed with majority of 134 votes Featured

    June 18, 2014

    The motion brought in by nine UPFA MPs against office of the UNHRC sponsored international investigation into alleged human rights violations in Sri Lanka was passed with a majority of 134 votes today after two days of debate.

    At the end of the debate, a division by name was called by the Opposition on the motion and the subsequent vote received 144 votes in favour and 10 votes against while 37 MPs abstained voting with 33 absent.

    UNP MPs abstained voting while the TNA voted against the motion. The DNA MPs were absent at the time the vote was taken.

    Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa announced to Parliament that the motion was passed with majority of votes.

    The motion signed by nine UPFA MPs Achala Jagodage, Malani Fonseka, Janaka Bandara, Udith Lokubandara, A H M Azwer, Shantha Bandara, J R P Suriyapperuma, Nimal Wijesinghe, and R Duminda Silva sought the resolving of the House against the investigation to be conducted against Sri Lanka by the office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights should not be carried out on the ground that such a course of action was detrimental to the process of reconciliation and peace and that it erodes the sovereignty, dignity and stature of Sri Lanka.

    Special Reporter

    dgi log front