July 16, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Parliament to resort to solar power Featured

    May 22, 2016

    Party Leaders have agreed to convert Parliament from using electricity from the national grid to solar power.


    According to sources, Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy has already conducted a study for the proposed conversion, which is found conducive and cost-effective. Sustainable Energy Power Authority has also given the task of coming out with a suitable design and to explore the possibilities of placing the solar panels effectively by making use of international examples.


    The Party Leaders meeting which was held on 17th May was chaired by Speaker Karu Jayasuirya.


    Deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala, Deputy Chairman of Committees Selvam Adaikkilanathan, Leader of the House and Minister of Higher Education and Highways Lakshman Kiriella, Leader of the Opposition Rajavarothiam Sampanthan, Minister of Parliamentary Reforms and Mass Media and the Chief Government Whip Gayantha Karyunatileka, Chief Opposition Whip JVP MP Anura Kumara Dissanayaka, Minister of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine Dr.Rajitha Senaratne, Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training Mahinda Samaradsinghe, Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy Ajith P. Perera, Joint Opposition MPs Dinesh Gunawardena and Douglas Devananda were present at the Party Leaders meeting. (AH)

    Last modified on Saturday, 21 May 2016 11:43

    dgi log front