August 09, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook


    JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 47

    President Rajapaksa Returns After Visits to Maldives and Seychelles

    June 30, 2014

    President Mahinda Rajapaksa returned to the island yesterday (June 29) after completing a successful four-day state visit to Maldives and Seychelles. The President was accompanied by First Lady Shiranthi Wickremasinghe Rajapaksa during these visits. 

    Seychelles President James Michel, Vice President Mr. Danny Faure and Minister of Foreign Affairs Mr. Jean-Paul Adam were at the Seychelles International Airport yesterday to bid farewell to President Rajapaksa who was accorded a guard of honor.

    President Rajapaksa, who arrived in Maldives on June 25, held bilateral discussions with Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom and several other political leaders. President Abdul Gayoom assured that Maldives will continue to support Sri Lanka at international fora in the future. The former President of Maldives Maumoon Abdul Gayoom also called on President Rajapaksa.

    During the visit, Sri Lanka and Maldives signed three bilateral cooperation agreements in health, investment, and search and rescue sectors. Delegations of the two countries, during their official discussions, identified new areas to expand cooperation.

    Seychelles President James Michel, during bilateral discussions, told President Rajapaksa that his country wants to continue working closely with Sri Lanka. Vice President of Seychelles and several other political leaders held discussions with President Rajapaksa.

    During the visit, Sri Lanka and Seychelles signed six agreements including an agreement for the establishment of a Joint Commission on cooperation. President Rajapaksa also declared open the new Sri Lankan High Commission and new branches of the Bank of Ceylon, Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation, Mihin Lanka and a Nawaloka medical center in Seychelles.

    Minister of External Affairs Prof. G.L. Peiris, Minister of Higher Education Mr. S.B. Dissanayake, Monitoring MP of the Ministry of External Affairs Mr. Sajin de Vass Gunawardena, Members of Parliament Mr. A.H.M. Azwar, Mr. Lohan Ratwatta, Mr. Udith Lokubandara, Mr. Ranjith de Zoysa and Mr. Thenuka Vidanagamag, Secretary to the President Mr. Lalith Weeratunga and Secretary to the Ministry of External Affairs Mrs. Kshenuka Senewiratne accompanied the President.


    Last modified on Monday, 30 June 2014 15:32

    dgi log front