February 18, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Parliament approves to suspend two JO members

    September 21, 2018

    The Parliament today approved a motion through a vote to suspend UPFA MP Wimal Weerawansa for a period of 2 weeks. Another motion was also approved by vote to suspend UPFA MP Prasanna Ranaweera from attending parliament sitting for a period of 4 weeks.

    The motions were brought against the two MPs for unethical conduct during a recent parliament debate on the controversial statement made by MP Vijayakala Maheswaran regarding the LTTE.

    The motion against National Freedom Front (NFF) leader Wimal Weerawansa was passed with 39 votes in favor and 21 against. The motion against Prasanna Ranaweera was passed with 41 MPs voting in favor and 21 against, according to reports

    Last modified on Thursday, 27 September 2018 20:27

    dgi log front