August 10, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    New MP sworn in to fill seat vacated by President

    January 30, 2015

    Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) member Jayasinghe Bandara was sworn in as a Parliamentarian on Thursday (29) to fill the parliamentary seat vacated by President Maithripala Sirisena.

    Bandara, who contested the 2010 General Election from the Polonnaruwa District under the United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) of which SLFP is the main constituent, received the 5th highest number of preference votes for the party.


    Four MPs were elected to Parliament from the Polonnaruwa District at the 2010 election and Jayasinghe Bandara's name was next in the UPFA list.

    dgi log front