September 26, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    President Appoints Commission of Inquiry to Probe Corruption and Abuse of Power Featured

    March 12, 2015

    President Maithripala Sirisena recently appointed a Commission of Inquiry headed by Supreme Court Justice Priyasath Dep to probe corruption and abuse of power.


    The other members of the commission are Supreme Court Judge Anil Gunaratne, High Court Judge Gihan Kulathunge, retired Auditor General Sarath Mayadunne and retired Additional Solicitor General Aiyathurei Gnanadasan.


    The terms of reference of the Commission are to be announced this week. The President’s commission is to function in addition to the anti-corruption committee headed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.


    The newly set up commission will probe into matters including illegal acquisition of lands, irregularities in the Colombo Stock Exchange and the handling of money in the Employees’ Provident Fund.

    dgi log front