November 20, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Kapila Wijegunawardene named as Chairman Selection Committee

    April 08, 2015

    Former Sri Lanka fast bowler Kapila Wijegunawardene has been named the Chairman of Sri Lanka's new four-member selection committee, replacing Sanath Jayasuriya.

    The new committee replaced the five-member panel headed by Jayasuriya that resigned last Friday after serving for two years with former wicket-keepers Amal Silva and Brendon Kuruppu, and middle-order batsman Hemantha Wickremaratne as other members.

    Sports Minister Navin Dissanayake dissolved the Sri Lanka Cricket administration and appointed an interim committee headed by former Sri Lanka Test batsman Sidath Wettimuny for an indefinite period. Soon after Wettimuny’s appointment both the Minister and Wettimuny during a press conference said that fresh thinking was needed in selections and this was which led to Jayasuriya and his committee tending their resignation.

    dgi log front