February 20, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Sanga honoured as International Cricketer of the Year

    May 27, 2015

    Earlier this week, the Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara was honoured as the CEAT International Cricketer of the Year at a commemoration held in Mumbai, India. At the same ceremony, Rangana Herath was announced as the Best International Bowler of the Year.

    Sangakkara’s outstanding form followed by the consecutive hundreds during the World Cup, not only demonstrated that he deserves the award but highlighted him amongst the rest. Despite retiring from the shorter version of the game, Sangakkara has been splendid with the bat throughout the last few years. The  other Sri Lankans to win the award prior to Sangakkara were Muttiah Muralitharan, Sanath Jayasuriya and Mahela Jayawardena. 


    The Sri Lankan spinner Rangana Herath was announced as the International Bowler of the Year for the exceptional match winning performances throughout the year. Since Murali’s retirement, Rangana Herath has been consistent by spearheading the bowling attack and delivering whenever required. 


    Apart from the two Sri Lankans, several International players grabbed several awards as well,


     International Batsman of the Year – Hashim Amla
     T20 Player of the Year – Dwayne Bravo
     Indian Cricketer of the Year – Ajinkya Rahane
     Special Award – Rohit Sharma
     Domestic Cricketer of the Year – Vinay Kumar
     Young Player of the Year – Deepak Hooda
     International Lifetime Achievement Award – Kapil Dev

    dgi log front