February 25, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Sri Lanka Schools All Island-Age Group Aquatic Championships–2015

    June 15, 2015

    The 42nd Annual Sri Lanka Schools All Island-Age Group Aquatic Championships–2015 will take place on June 18, 19, 20 and 21 starting at 8 am each day at the Sugathadasa Stadium swimming pool.

    Four thousand two hundred school swimmers from one hundred and sixty five schools will be taking part in the four day event. There is a marked improvement in participants as 700 more swimmers have entered the fray, said Chrisan Duminda, Vice President, Sri Lanka Schools Aquatic Sports Association (SLSASA) at a press briefing. Milo Sri Lanka will be sponsoring the event for the 23rd time.


    The Diving Championships of the event has already taken place where Royal won the boys’ events while Bishops were overall champs in the girls’ events


    A total of 165 Schools will be participating under 06 Age Groups – Under 09, 11, 13, 15, 17 and Under 19. 270 Boys & 165 Girls teams will compete in the Relay Events.


    Altogether 24 Trophies and Certificate will be a awarded for those who reach the qualified time for the below 13 age group.


    The opening ceremony will be held on June 18 at 8.00 a.m and the chief guest will be the President of the Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union, Jayantha Gamage Capt. of Sri Lanka Navy.


    The closing ceremony will be held June 21 at 4.00 p.m and the chief guest will be President Maithriepala Sirsisena. Guest of Honour will be Mrs. Shivani Hegde (Managing Directress Nestle Lanka PLC)


    Last year the championship (Boys) was won by St. Joseph’s College Colombo and the championship (Girls) was won by Mahamaya Girls School, Kandy.

    Last modified on Monday, 15 June 2015 15:26

    dgi log front