November 17, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    ‘Sappers 4 X 4 Gympo 2015’ Produces New Records with Racing Drivers & Riders

    September 26, 2015

    The fifth ‘Sappers 4 x 4 Gympo 2015' which was also the Grand Finale of FWDC 4 x 4 championship 2015, organized by the Corps of Sri Lanka Engineers (SLE) in collaboration with the Four Wheel Drive Club (FWDC) and Sri Lanka Motor Cycle Riders Association got underway at the Sapper Off Road Arena at Thunkama, Embilipitiya on Sunday (20).

    The annual pride of the Sri Lanka Engineers, ‘Sappers 4 x 4 Gympo’ of the best international standards, set in a highly competitive milieu, was inaugurated by Major General Channa Goonetilleke, Colonel Commandant of the SLE gracing the event as the Chief Guest.


    The novel 4 x 4 event, held for the fifth consecutive year was introduced to the Army arena of sports driving and riding as it brings an exciting experience to suit the international rules of the 4 x 4 sport while restricting it to extreme class vehicles.


    14 Top Teams from Sri Lanka and 4 Foreign Teams, two from Malaysia and a team each from Australia and India battled for supremacy in the event.


    Chaminda Dareeju and Dimuthu Fernando were adjudged the Best Driver and the Co-Driver carrying away trophies respectively as winners in the Extreme category over 300 cc. Similarly, Sam Samarasinghe and Dhanushka Suraweera made it to be the runner-up while second Runner up slot went to Russel Brinsmead and Warner Oorloff.


    Suresh Chturanga and Ravindra Sanjeewa emerged the Best Driver and Co Driver winning the Extreme under 3000 cc category while the duo, Francis Khoo and Amal Wickramaarachchi became the runner-up. The second runner-up were Indika Sanjaya and Navin Marapana.


    The overall Championship was however won by Suresh Chaturanga and Ravindra Sanjeewa team.


    Over 100 riders participated in the 12 MX bicycle events in the ‘Sappers 4 x 4 Gympo 2015’. Ishan Dasanayake was the winner in the 125 cc 2 stroke racing category and Jacus Gunawardena and Evon Buddhika Silva became the 1st runner-up and the 2nd second runner-up.


    In the 125 cc to 250 cc 4 stroke racing category, Ishan Dasanayake became the winner and Jacus Gunawardena grabbed the runner-up slot. Evon Gurusinghe was adjudged the 2nd runner-up. Buddhika Silva became the winner in the 125 cc 2 stroke racing event. 1st runner-up was Sammera Premarathne and the 2nd runner-up place went to Ushan Silva.


    In the Defence Forces race of 125 cc 2 stroke category, the winner was Buddhika Silva and the 1st runner-up place went to Sammera Premarathne. Ushan Silva became the 2nd runner-up.


    Rajeeve Babujee under the racing up to 85cc was the winner in the under 16 race category 1 and 2. In the same event, D.M.D Kalhara and Buddhika Sandakelum clinch the 1st runner-up slot and the 2nd runner-up slot. Under 13 racing category up to 85 cc, Budhika Sandakelum secured the 1st place as the winner. Amendra Thanthirige, the 1st runner- up and Rumash de silva, the 2nd runner-up also received merit awards under the same category.


    In the most thrilling Street Trail (up to 250 cc race 1 & 2), Evon Gurusingh and Sameera Premarathne shone as the winner and the 1st runner-up while Akila Samath was selected as the 2nd runner-up in the race 1. However, Madura Peiris won the race 2.


    Sameera Premarathne, Buddhika Kasun Silva and Madura Peiris were the winner, 1st runner-up and the 2nd runner of the Street Trail up to 125 cc respectively.


    The child rider, Abishek Bandara won the Kids’ race 1 (up to 50 cc under 10) and Gagana Fernando and Sadeepa Oshada secured the 1st runner-up and the 2nd runner- up slots respectively. In the Kids’ race 2 (up to 50 cc) Demitha Jayawardena showed his colours and became the winner while Nimna Abishek and Gagana Fernado secured places as the 1st runner-up and the 2nd runner-up.


    In the final score Ishan Dasanayake was the champion rider of the Gympo 2015 MX event.


    Significant records were made at the national level during the event since it is the one and only 4 x 4 Gympo race.


    The Sappers 4x4 Gympo 2015 was powered by VVK Machinery & Equipment (Pvt) Limited, CEAT Kelani International Tyres (Pvt) Ltd, SENOK Trade Combined (Pvt) Limited, Swedish Trading (Pvt) Ltd, Singer Sri Lanka (Pvt) Ltd, Ace Motors, Ceylon Cold Stores, Asia Broadcasting Cooperation (Hiru Fm/ Sun Fm) and Associated Newspapers Limited.

    SL Army

    Last modified on Saturday, 26 September 2015 05:31

    dgi log front