October 17, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Landslide threat in eight districts of Sri Lanka

    October 19, 2015

    The Disaster Management Center of Sri Lanka has extended the warning of landslide threats in eight districts due to the prevailing rainy weather. The eight districts include Badulla, Nuwara Eliya, Kegalle, Kandy, Kalutara, Ratnapura, Matara and Hambantota.

    The Disaster Management Center warned the residents of those districts to remain vigilant if the rains continued further.


    Meanwhile, the Department of Meteorology has predicted that showers will occur at several places in the Northern and Eastern provinces today, while thundershowers will occur at most places elsewhere after 2.00 pm. Heavy rainfalls of about 100mm are also likely at some places.

    Last modified on Monday, 19 October 2015 08:21

    dgi log front