October 15, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Lt Gen Denzil Kobbekaduwa & Other Heroes Remembered at Araly Featured

    August 09, 2014

    Ten war heroes who paid supreme sacrifice for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the motherland 22 years ago were remembered on 8th August 2014 at Araly point in Kayts island, Jaffna.

    A religious function was organized by the 17th Gemunu Watch of Kayts on directives of Commander Security Force Jaffna Major General Udaya Perera. Chief Incumbent of Nagadeepa Vihara Ven. Navadagala Padumkitti Tissa Thero conducted religious rites at the commemoration ceremony. A two minute silence was observed in honour of the War Heroes who laid their lives for the motherland after vigil drill performed by the soldiers. Later, senior officers and senior non commissioned officers of the Sri Lanka Army and Sri Lanka Navy placed flower wreaths at the monument.


    Lieutenant General Denzil Kobbekaduwa, Major General Wijaya Wimalaratne and Rear Admiral Mohan Jayamaha along with some officers and other ranks who were all travelling in a vehicle was targeted by an LTTE land mine at Araly Point on 8th August1992.


    General Officer Commanding 51 Division Brigadier Chula Abeynayaka, Commanding Officer Kanchadeva Naval Base in Kayts Captain D.P.K. Dassanayake, Commanding Officer 17th Gemunu Watch Lieutenant Colonel Ashmin Rodrigo and officers and Other Ranks of Sri Lanka Army and Sri Lanka Navy participated in the function.  (KH/cimicjaffna)





















    dgi log front