May 25, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    5,500 Farmer Families receive land deeds

    April 21, 2014

    5,500 farmer families in Mahaweli B and C Zones received ownership deeds on Saturday (April 19) at a ceremony held at Girandurukotte Mahaweli Grounds under the patronage of President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

    The land deeds were handed over to the Mahaweli farmers under the 3rd stage of the National Programme of Presentation of Land Deeds . The distribution of these lands among the farmer families commenced on the 31st of December last year according to a pledge made by President to the farmer families in Dehiattakandiya..


    Accordingly, at the ceremony the farmers in the villages of Aralaganvila, Dimbulagala, Manampitiya and Welikanda in the Mahaweli B Zone and farmers in the Dehiattakandiya, Girandurukotte, Mahiyanganaya, Navamedagama, Mahawanawela and Sandunpura in Mahaweli C zone received land deeds.


    The Mahaweli Authority sources said that already 140,000 Mahaweli farmer families have received ownership land deeds and another 35,000 families will receive land deeds this year.


    Venerable Maha Sangha, Senior Minister P.Dayarathna, Ministers Maithreepala Sirisena, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Bandula Gunawardena, Lakshman Senevirathna, Uva Province Governor Nanda Mathew, Chief Minister Shashendra Rajapaksa, Eastern Province Chief Minister Abdul Najeed Majeed, Deputy Minister Ministers, local politicians and officials were present at the occasion.


    dgi log front