October 22, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    6151 nominations accepted for the General Elections 2015 Featured

    July 14, 2015
    At the General Election scheduled for August 17, a total of 225 legislators will be selected for the 8th Parliament.  The 225 member Parliament comprises 196 elected members and 29 members from the National List. 
    Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya said in a statement that a total of 6151 nomination papers were received from 3,653 political parties and 2,498 Independent candidates to contest the 2015 parliamentary election.

    Returning officers in the 22 electoral districts have done the final acceptance of nomination papers yesterday (13) at 12.00 noon.


    36 nomination papers that were handed over had been rejected by the Returning Officers on the basis of not preparing properly according to the election law. Accordingly, nominations of 12 political parties and 24 independent groups have been rejected.


    The number of candidates who are in the election fray from the 22 electoral districts are:


    792 in Colombo, 588 in Gampaha, 286 in Kalutara, 468 in Kurunegala, 264 in Puttalam, 96 in Monaragala, 165 in Badulla , 221 in Galle, 187 in Matara, 170 in Hambantota, 242 in Anuradhapura, 88 in Polonnaruwa, 280 in Ratnapura, 228 in Kegalle, 253 in Nuwara Eliya, 360 in Kandy, 176 in Matale, 147 in Trincomalee, 368 in Batticaloa ,310 in Digamadulla, 210 in Jaffna and 252 in Vanni.

    dgi log front