October 17, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    New Ministers sworn in Featured

    September 04, 2015

    The swearing in ceremony of the new Cabinet of the National Government commenced at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo, a short while ago.

    Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was the first to take oaths as the Minister of National Policy and Economic Affairs before President Maithripala Sirisena.


    In total 42 Cabinet Ministers including Wijedasa Rajapaksa and D.M. Swaminathan, who have already been appointed as ministers, were sworn in today.


    Mangala Samaraweera took oath as the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Rajapaksa as Minister of Justice and Swaminathan as Minister of Rehabilitation on August 24 before the President.


    Rajapaksa and Swaminathan received additional ministerial portfolios today.


    This brings the current number of Cabinet Minister in the naitional government to 43.


    The following MPs were sworn in as ministers:

    Cabinet Ministers

    01. Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe – Minister of National Policy and Economic Affairs
    02. John Amaratunga – Minister of Tourism Development & Christian Affairs
    03. Gamini Jayawickrama Perera – Minister of Sustainable Development & Wildlife
    04. Nimal Siripala de Silva – Minister of Transport
    05. S.B. Dissanayake – Minister of Social Empowerment and Welfare
    06. W.D.J. Seneviratne – Minister of Labour and Trade Union Relations
    07. Lakshman Kiriella – Minister of University Education and Highways
    08. Anura Priyadharshana Yapa – Minister of Disaster Management
    09. Susil Premajayantha - Minister of Technology, Technical Education and Employment
    10. Thilak Janaka Marapana – Minister of Law and Order and Prison Reforms
    11. Dr Rajitha Senaratne – Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine
    12. Ravi Karunanayake – Minister of Finance
    13. Mahinda Samarasinghe – Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training
    14. Vajira Abeywardena – Minister of Home Affairs
    15. S.B. Nawinne – Minister of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development and Cultural Affairs
    16. Patali Champika Ranawaka – Minister of Megapolis and Western Development
    17. Mahinda Amaraweera – Minister of Fisheries and Water Resources
    18. Naveen Dissanayake – Minister of Plantation Industries
    19. Ranjith Siyambalapitiya – Minister of Power and Renewable Energy
    20. Duminda Dissanayake – Minister of Agriculture
    21. Wijedasa Rajapaksa – Minister of Buddha Sasana
    22. P. Harrison – Minister of Rural Economic Affairs
    23. Ranjith Maddumabandara – Minister of Public Administration and Management
    24. Gayantha Karunathilake – Minister of Parliament Reforms & Media
    25. Sajith Premadasa – Minister of Housing & Construction
    26. Arjuna Ranatunga – Minister of Ports & Maritime Affairs
    27. M. K. A. D. S. Gunawardana – Minister of Lands
    28. P. Digambaram – Minister of Upcountry New Villages, Estate Infrastructure& Community Development
    29. Chandrani Bandara – Minister of Women and Children’s Affairs
    30. Thalatha Athukorala – Minister of Foreign Employment
    31. Akila Viraj Kariyawasam – Minister of Education
    32. D.M. Swaminathan – Minister of Rehabilitation, Resettlement and Hindu Affairs
    33. Chandima Weerakkody – Minister of Petroleum & Petroleum Gas
    34. Dayasiri Jayasekara – Minister of Sports
    35. Sagala Ratnayake – Minister of Southern Development
    36. Harin Fernando – Telecommunication & Digital Infrastructure
    37. Mano Ganesan – Minister of National Dialog
    38. Daya Gamage – Minister of Primary Industries
    39. Rauff Hakeem – Minister of Urban Development & Water Supply
    40. Rishad Bathiudeen – Minister of Industries & Commerce
    41. Kabeer Hashim – Minister of Public Enterprise Development
    42. Mohamed Hashim Abdul Haleem – Minister of Postal Service & Muslim Affairs

    Last modified on Friday, 04 September 2015 15:50

    dgi log front