Print this page
Tuesday, 28 October 2014 20:45

House sitting ends prematurely Featured

Published in Budget - 2015

Parliament was adjourned one hour and 45 minutes earlier than as four government and opposition MPs listed to speak in the debate on budget 2015 were not present in the House today.

After UPFA Kurunegala District MP Neranjan Wickramasinghe participating in the debate ended his speech at 4.45 pm, presiding member Deputy Chairman of Committees Chandrakumara Murugesu called on the names of MPs listed to address the House one by one, but none of them were present.

The absent members were UNP Ratnapura District MP Thalatha Atukorale, Minister of Productivity Promotions Basheer Segu Dawood, Ratnapura District UPFA MP Janaka Wakkumbura and Hambantota District UPFA MP V.K.Indika. Their names had been included in the list of members to speak this evening.

As none of them turned the Chair had to end the sessions around 4.45 pm though the debate session had been previously scheduled to end at 6.00 pm.

Thereafter the Chair announced that the debate at the time of adjournment of the House could be taken up. The adjournment debate had been allocated 30 minutes and originally scheduled to be ended at 6.30 pm. The member listed to move the motion for the debate was Galle District DNA MP Ajith Kumara. However there was no member in the opposition to second MP Kumara‚Äôs motion. Therefore, the Chair instructed MP Kumara to move the motion some other day and adjourned the House till 9.30 am tomorrow (29). (Special Reporter/HC)