April 15, 2024
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Sixteen women candidates to contest from Anuradhapura

    July 16, 2015

    Making a progress in women representation in politics, 16 female representatives will contest at the General Election from the Anuradapura district.

    These candidates represent 5 recognized political parties and 3 independent groups. 
    Out of 810,082 registered voters in the Ratnapura District, 96,170 are eligible to vote from Eheliyagoda, 121,108 from Ratnapura, 83,934 from Pelmadulla, 96,156 from Nivithigala, 102,618 from Rakwana, 140,748 from Kolonna, 62,773 from Kalawana and 106,575 from Balangoda,  the Ratnapura District Secretary and Returning Officer Sunil Kannangara.
    The district will elect 11 of the 225 members of the Sri Lankan Parliament.
    According to Ratnapura Senior Deputy Elections Commissioner M.A.P.C.Perera, action has already been taken to establish 624 voting centres in the District.
    Last modified on Thursday, 16 July 2015 09:01

    dgi log front