May 18, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Development of Pottery Villages

    November 11, 2014

    This Pottery Village Programme provided support to 13 villages in 10 Districts covering Anuradhapura, Puttlam, Kurunegala, Gampaha, Colombo, Nuwara-Eliya, Matara, Batticaloa, Matale, Hambantota and Jaffna.

    Based on the Budget Speech 2013 of  President Mahinda Rajapaksa, the Ministry of Traditional Industries and Small Enterprise Development formulated a project for the development of Pottery Villages to support pottery industry to gain access to modern technology, equipment and design to manufacture specialized gift items preferred by tourists.


    This project benefits over thousand (1000) pottery industrialists Island-wide. The project intervention includes provision of mobile pug mill, electric potter wheels, kick wheels and kilns, product development programme, new designs, development of gift and souvenir items and market facilitation with a view to increase the production volume, diversify the products and develop new products to cater to the tourism market. (KH)

    dgi log front