November 29, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Cabinet approves 20th Amendment with a new electoral system of 237 parliamentary seats Featured

    June 13, 2015

    Cabinet of ministers during a special meeting convened on Friday approved a new electoral system proposed for the 20th Amendment that increased the number of parliamentary seats to 237 from the current 225.

    Under the system approved, 145 Parliamentarians will be elected under the First-Past-the Post (FPP) system, 55 under the district Proportional Representation (PR) system and 37 from the National List through the 20th Amendment to the Constitution.


    The new proposal was presented to the Cabinet meeting by President Maithripala Sirisena.


    Earlier this week the Cabinet approved an electoral system of 225-member parliament where 125 MPs will be elected from First-Past-the Post system, 75 from the Proportional Representation system and the remaining 25 members from the National List.

    long bannar

    Latest News

    dgi log front