October 17, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Central Bank issues a new series of Rs. 10 coins to portray 25 Administrative Districts of Sri Lanka Featured

    November 17, 2014

    The Central Bank of Sri Lanka today issued a new series of 25 coins of Rs 10 denomination in order to recognize and portray unique characteristics and/or iconic landmarks and/or special features of each administrative district of Sri Lanka.

    The first set of coins was presented by the Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka,

    Ajith Nivard Cabraal to President Mahinda Rajapaksa today (17) at a ceremony held at the Central Bank Auditorium.


    With the presentation of the coins to the President, the new coins would be released via the banks and the Central Bank Provincial Offices for circulation.


    Three packs for the stamp collectors, i.e., a coffee table book, coin packs and coin cards, are available for sale at the Economic History Museum, No.54 Chatham Street, Colombo 1 and the Central Bank Provincial Offices at Anuradhapura, Matara, Matale, Trincomalee and Jaffna.(kh)

    dgi log front