November 30, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Sri Lanka confirms final 15-man squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

    January 08, 2015

    Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the final 15-man squad for the coming ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 jointly co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

    Angelo Mathews has been named the captain for the tournament with Lahiru Thirimanne being the vice-captain. There were questions revolving over Lasith Malinga’s fitness who makes a return to the Angelo Mathews-led side despite concerns over the pacer’s fitness.


    Sri Lanka who is currently on the Tour to New Zealand have named a similar team as that of the ODI series to be played in New Zealand later this month. The only name excluded from the current crop is that of fast bowler Shaminda Eranga, who has been left out.


    The coming 11th edition of World Cup beginning from February 14 will be important for the veterans Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene, for whom it will be the last time they represent the country at this level.


    The Team:


    Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-capt), Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga (subject to fitness), Dhammika Prasad, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake

    Last modified on Thursday, 08 January 2015 09:40

    long bannar

    Latest News

    dgi log front