September 22, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Three New MPs sworn in

    September 23, 2015

    Three new parliamentarians took oath before Speaker of House Karu Jayasuriya Tuesday (22) afternoon. Accordingly Lakshman Seneviratne, Palitha Thewarapperuma and Bimal Rathnayake were sworn in.

    Thewarapperuma was elected in the recent general election from Kalutara District under the UNP ticket. However he could not attend the parliamentary session due to the funeral of his son.


    Lakshman Seneviratne contested under the UPFA ticket from Badulla District and lost the election. However, he was appointed in place of Chamara Dassanayake, who returned to the Uva Provincial Council as its Chief Minister.


    Bimal Rathnayake is also a defeated candidate from the JVP. He was named as a national list MP in place of Sarathchandra Mayadunne who resigned.

    Last modified on Wednesday, 23 September 2015 08:49

    dgi log front