September 21, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    President confers Veerodhara Vibushana medals on two war heroes

    August 20, 2019

    President Maithripala Sirisena awarded Veerodhara Vibushana medals to two war heroes today. This highest gallantry medal awarded by the Commander-in-Chief for all the serving officers in Army, Navy and Air Force in recognition of their unmatched valour, dedication and unfailing commitment, stated the President’s Media Division.

    Corporal Ratnayake was decorated with this medal for his selfless act to save lives of four people who were faced with the danger of drowning in a lagoon in Batticaloa on December 21st 2016.President Sirisena awarded the Veerodhara Vibushana medal to wife of Late Warrant Officer Y. M. S. Yaparatne who lost his life while carrying our relief operations conducted by the Air Force during floods in 2017.

    Secretary to the President Udaya R. Seneviratne, Secretary to the Ministry of Defence Major General. Shantha Kottegoda, Chief of Defence Staff Admiral Ravi Wijegunaratne, Air Force Commander Air Marshal Sunmangala Dias were also present on this occasion.

    dgi log front